Have you tried…not sending death threats?

This is a version of my TCS column this week. I should hasten to add Trigger Warnings for graphic content in the links to the actual messages I’ve received.
Note: This is a version of my TCS column “All Experiences Matter.”
I’m going to take a brief pause from talking about welfare in general to talk about my own. More specifically, about all the death threats I’ve been getting. Yes, death threats. It’s sad that I have to write that. I’m 24 years old, and I’ve had more death threats made against me than is acceptable (i.e. >0).


Last year, I was the victim of a sustained campaign of online abuse. I received over 50 anonymous threats of death and sexual violence by email. I then started receiving hundreds of text messages telling me I should kill myself. Rather ruined my Masters year, to be honest.


This year, I wrote a piece for Varsity, calling out Germaine Greer for her hateful statements about trans people. Some people took exception to my article. I tried to engage with them in the comments of the article, before giving up. But then the death threats started to arrive by email. The first was comparatively conservative. I should “educate myself” and then “Burn in hell.” As an ex Catholic, that’s really just a summary of phone calls home, to be honest. Also, how am I supposed to educate myself if I am also burning in the fires of damnation? I get the impression that’s a rather full time hobby.


It got worse. I was branded a Men’s Rights Activist and told I should be violently raped and mutilated. One message was just a picture of my Facebook profile pic, defaced with offensive slogans, and with instructions to jump in front of a train. Messages didn’t have their own internal logic, just a random spew of hatred at me for daring to suggest that Greer is a nasty transphobe.


My sense of deja vu didn’t get any better after a chat with the authorities. As with my last experience of reporting harassment, despite showing proof of threats, I was treated as a bit of a nuisance. It was suggested to me that I should not write things online if people were going to threaten my life. I suggested that maybe people who disagreed with what I wrote online shouldn’t put me in fear of violence. Apparently that’s now a radical new idea.


As I write this blog post, I’ve just deleted my Twitter account. I made the mistake of trying to engage with some of the trolls, and lo and behold, the death and rape threats commenced in that medium too. I’ve never used Twitter that much, to be honest, but now I can’t go near it without fear of some kind of insult, or worse,  threat.


I know for a fact I’m not the only the one who’s had online abuse after expressing an unpopular opinion. Maybe it’s a comment on a news article, a Facebook post, a Tweet, or maybe someone has gone so far as to send you a threatening email. The only thing I can say is: self care is an important and valuable act.  It’s frightening to feel like the internet is shrieking hate at you. But if I could draw something positive from my experience of online harassment, it would be this: look after yourself. You don’t have to pretend everything is ok.  Don’t let the bastards grind you down.
6 thoughts on “Have you tried…not sending death threats?

  1. Honestly, most of what you write on the blog is complaining about getting death threats. Maybe if you get so many death threats, you should just, you know, stop speaking? Otherwise it's your own fault.

    Like

  2. God, if you write one more word about death threats, I swear I will come around to your house and kill you. I know where you live.

    Like

  3. Why does he deserve it? For sticking up for transgender people?
    All people are equal, men, women , transgender, black, white, Asian etc etc
    To suggest otherwise is morbid. As far as I know Chris has not said anyone is better or worse, so to send him abuse makes you as bad or worse than true sexists.

    Like

Leave a Reply

